What are the Cisco ASA failover types?

Cisco ASA Failover types
The Cisco ASA supports two types of failover
  1. Regular failover
  2. Stateful failover
Regular failover
The instant a failover happens , all active connections are dropped . Clients will need to reestablish connections when the new
active device takes over


Stateful failover
When Stateful Failover is enabled , the active device continually passes per-connection state information to the standby
device . After a failover happens , the same connection information is available at the new active device . Supported user
applications are not needed to reconnect to keep the same connection session .
The state information transmitted to the standby device contains the following :
• The Layer 2 bridge table ( when functioning in transparent firewall mode ) .
• The HTTP connection states ( if HTTP replication is enabled ) .
• The ISAKMP and IPSec SA table .
• NAT translation table .
• TCP connection states .
• UDP connection states .
• The ARP table .


The information which is not passed to the standby unit when Stateful Failover is enabled contains the following :
• State information for Security Service Modules .
• DHCP server address leases .
• L2TP over IPSec sessions .
• The HTTP connection table ( unless HTTP replication is enabled ) .
• The routing tables . After a failover happens , some packets might be lost our routed out of the wrong interface ( the
default route ) while the dynamic routing protocols rediscover routes .
• The user authentication ( uauth ) table .