There are three types of Etherchannels negotiation mechanism

  • PAgP  (Port Aggregation Protocol)- Cisco’s proprietary negotiation protocol
  • LACP (Link Aggregation Protocol)  – Standards-based negotiation protocol
  • Static Persistence (“On”) – No negotiation protocol is used


There are two types of Etherchannels 1) Layer2   2) Layer3

1) Layer2 Etherchannels:

Switch1(config)# interface range gigabitethernet0/1 -4 
Switch1(config-if-range)# switchport access vlan 100
Switch1(config-if-range)# channel-group 5 mode ?

active–Enable LACP unconditionally
auto–Enable PAgP only if a PAgP device is detected
desirable–Enable PAgP unconditionally
on–Enable Etherchannel only “Manual On Mode”
passive–Enable LACP only if a LACP device is detected

Switch1(config-if-range)# channel-group 5 mode desirable

2) Layer 3 Etherchannels:

Switch1(config)# interface port-channel 2
Switch1(config-if)# no switchport
Switch1(config-if)# ip address
Switch1(config-if)# end